Backdrawing

View from a window

As time is an issue I feel that I am just going through the motions of some of these exercises, so that I can move on, so for this exercise I didn’t take much time exploring a subject.

Exif_JPEG_PICTUREMy starting point was a view from the office window. I produced a hurried drawing in my sketchbook – using a viewfinder to frame an ‘interesting’ composition.

For the print I used 2 plates. The first was blue. It was interesting because when I turned the paper over to reveal the print I could see all of the errors in my initial drawing, so then I went over with black ink. I used a range of implements: pens, different hardness of pencils, cotton swabs and also my fingers to create varied marks.

Exif_JPEG_PICTUREThe result was ok. I liked the mix of blue and black ink and it was interesting to have the incorrect marks still visible. The process does not allow for erasing so it would be interesting to exploit this tendency in the future to demonstrate the drawing process.

Hands

Exif_JPEG_PICTUREAfter reading about Louise Bourgeois’ drawings and prints I found it intriguing that she used body parts as a subject. I find the subject interesting due to the many connotations that that can convey.

Placing my left hand on the page and drawing around I produced a basic print. It was such a simple process but I quite liked the result. I was particularly taken with the scuffed marks that were created from the pressure of my hands.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURESelf-portrait

I used the same plate as above and the result for this drawing was a very subtle soft mark. I found the atmosphere that this conveyed, very pleasing and conveying the idea of time / life/ energy fading which is an interest of mine.

Various sketches

I decided to have a play drawing from memory, imagination and found images. None of the results were particularly successful here, but I found I am interested by the quality of line that is produced through this method, which is something I would like to consider using in the future.

Leave a Reply

