Research Point: Contemporary Printmakers

There are such a vast array of linocut artists working in the field today that it is hard to discern the wheat from the chaff. I have started a pinterest page so that I can collect all printmaking images that I find interesting and fit with my own aesthetic concerns. The link for this is here.

Obviously it was not possible to print off and annotate all of these artists’ works but it was useful as a means to give inspiration and to look at how certain artists produce certain effects. For example doing this visual research allowed me to understand that if I wanted a softer more delicate effect the best way to approach this would be through delicate colour use in this medium, as the linocut itself is much bolder in nature.

I wanted to look for artists that I could rely on as being “Fine Art” and found a number whilst looking at my printmaking books and whilst looking into at the Tate and Royal Academy websites. I have annotated some of these pieces and added them into a slideshow below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The works above that I was attracted to seem to have a few common elements.

  • Depict an atmosphere.
  • Are expressive of artists’ feelings.
  • Convey an underlying meaning regarding the human condition and/or the fragility of life.
  • Subtle use of colour.
  • Interesting, rough, spontaneous mark making.

These are areas that I hope to explore within my own work.

One thought on “Research Point: Contemporary Printmakers

  1. Pingback: Assignment 2: Gallery of Submitted work | suesprintmakingblog

Leave a Reply

