Questions for Tutor: Assignment 3

These are the questions that I asked my tutor relating to part 3 of the course:Specific assignment questions:

  1. For the first exercise – boat print I am including a failed print on black paper as I would like your opinion on it. I like the fact that it is misregistered – fitting with ideas around deconstruction, and wonder if I could exploit this in other works in the final part of the course. I would be grateful for your thoughts on this.
  1. I have chosen to submit 9 prints as one series for project 10 with a group title of ‘How can you be here…when you are not here?’

What do you think of this as a selection? When I get to assessment I would like to submit these on one piece of A1 card – what is the best way of presenting them?

General questions

  1. When conducting the literary review I found so much of the theory to be relevant and that I identify with: Psychoanalysis, Existentialism, Benjamin, Derrida (Deconstruction) and Japanese aesthetics all seemed to be valid. I did a lot of reading but only put a small amount of it into the finished statement of intent. In the end I chose to focus on Freud and Derrida and disregarded the rest, but I did put the information in my bibliography. Is this the right thing to do? Since finishing the reading I have also come across recent writing about hauntology, which seems to be fitting with my practice should I spend some time researching that too, and redo my statement?
  1. I have worked on my referencing. I was planning to include a bibliography for all of my images but I have run out of time, I will make sure I do this before assessment. It is all very time consuming to put them all in – is there an easy / quicker way – something I am missing?
  1. For the next part of the course I realise collagraph prints can only be printed intaglio through a press but I do not have access to one and due to my disability will not be able to travel to get to use one.

A friend has lent me her embossing machine which prints on paper a little smaller than A5 – would this be o.k. ? I wondered if I could work on panels again, as that would link to the ideas of deconstruction that I am interested in. I have seen some prints where people have used the same size block as paper and no border – I would like to do that because then I can get larger prints – with a border I will only manage A6 size. I will try some bigger plates but will only be able to print these relief.

Will this all be acceptable?

Any further tips about the collagraph process would be gratefully received.

Leave a Reply

